Technique Junkies Blog Hop!

It’s the first of the month and that means it’s time for a Technique Junkies  Blog Hop showcasing the new February release!  The fabulous Technique Junkie Design Team  will provide an amazing  selection of inspiration for your enjoyment.

Pat is again offering 15% off all February Release Stamps for one week!  In addition to new stamps, Technique Junkies has added a fun new product called Minx, a shimmer ink.  This of course is along side some already great art supplies like stencils, art anthology colorations, velvets, and sorbets.

The background on my first card uses “Faux Metal Gelatos from the Artistic Effects CD.  I used a Darice brick embossing folder and colored that with a mix of silver, blue, and purple Gelatos to get a stone look.  I watercolored my inmate “Mug Shot #SD638” with Zig Clean Color Real Brush Makers after embossing her.  The “wonky die” is from My Favorite Things and makes for a great window.  I added faux white stitching for more of that black and white contrast and finished off with the fabulous sentiment from “Partners in Crime #SS053.”

Feb 2016; Goofy Pictures

My next card features the new stamp, “Drinkin’ and Thinkin’ #SD656.”  For those of you who know me know I LOVE COFFEE so I love this stamp.  I started by creating a background using the “Distress Stain Dip Technique in the Artistic Effects CD.”  I then grabbed the Tim Holtz Coffee Stencil and applied that in Vintage Photo.  I stamped “Drinkin’ and Thinkin” then colored her up with Art Anthology Dimensional Paints in “Sunshine and Just Peach by Art Anthology. I finished off with the sentiment from “Simple Sentiments 2, Style B #SS02B.”Feb-Coffee2

My next card uses several of the new stamps.  The background is a classic Houndstooth background called, “Houndstooth Check #S665,”   The technique is the Distress Stain Dip technique from the Artistic Effects CD.   The focal image is from a great travel set called, “Vintage Travel Cases #PS012” which comes with several suit cases, this focal image, and a sentiment which I’ve also used. I added some extra pizazz but dropping on fran’tage embossing powder in copper and heating it from underneath.  I distressed the edges with several distress inks in brown and finished off with Black Soot.  I colored up some waxy thread with Timeless Colorations by Art Anthology  for the final element.

Feb-Travel Card

Now, that I’ve shown you what I have to offer, I don’t want you to miss any of the other design teams creativity so I encourage you to start hopping at the Technique Junkies Design Team Blog.

If you are arriving from Marilyn’s Blog, you in the right place!  Gorgeous project Marilyn!

The next stop is the wildly creative Jane Bosi.

Here is a list of the Design Team lineup:

Design Team Blog

Judy Jackson

Karen McAlpine 

Marilyn Hughes

Kathy Stacy – That’s Me!

Jane Bosi

Tonya Davidson

Beth Norman 

Pat Huntoon 

I sure hope you enjoy the Technique Junkies Hop! Don’t forget – 15% off February Stamps for the next week only!

About urrn4u

Hi! I'm Kathy, a Southern Californian native who has lived in the west coast, midwest, northeast and now the southeast. I'm a Registered Nurse who lives for the creation of Art. I am currently on the Design Teams of Cards in Envy, From The Heart Stamps, and Technique Junkies with previous design credits for A Blog Named Hero, A Day For Daisies, Creative Vision, From the Heart Stamps, Open-Minded Crafting, Repeat Impressions Stamps, Sketch Saturday, Send a Smile 4 Kids and Try Stampin' On Tuesday. I've also guest designed for Crafting By Design, Kenny K, The Alley Way, and Simon Says Stamp. I am married 25+ years to a wonderful man and have two very special grown sons, Dan and Matt.

Posted on February 1, 2016, in Technique Junkies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Absolutely wonderful cards, as always!!

    Like

  2. Smashing cards!! Going now to check out the Dip Technique as you made it look so cool!!

    Like

  3. I love your work. The coffee background is really cool. I’ll have to check it out. At first I thought it was a stamp you did it so well. Love that coffee feel you gave your card.

    Like

  4. Beautiful cards!! Love them all!

    Like

  5. Gilda (McStamper)

    Amazing cards. Thanks for your inspiration.

    Like

  6. LOVE your cards! That first one is very humorous and I had to go to the stamp set. I may need that set! I also like the coffee one and it gave me an idea for my coffee set. But the last one is amazing! I just love the vintage look you achieved.

    Like

  7. I love all 3 cards, Kathy, but I am just letting you know that first one will be CASE’D right down to the technique. She’s on my wishlist to buy. Thank you for enabling me, lol. xoxo

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

Sandy Allnock

Fearfully, wonderfully made! —Ps 139:14

Stamp, Ink, Paper Challenge

Weekly Challenge Blog

The Season

-The Ton -

My Impressions

Just gettin' my craft on!

Paper and Ink Imaginings

just playing with paper and ink

Simon Says Stamp Blog

Just gettin' my craft on!

Balzer Designs

Just gettin' my craft on!

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lindy's Stamp Gang

Join the Lindy's color revolution!

the CLASSroom

Just gettin' my craft on!

Tiddly Inks

Just gettin' my craft on!

The Daily Marker

Just gettin' my craft on!

Just Add Ink

Just gettin' my craft on!

Deconstructing Jen

Crafting with Jen Shults

Cards in Envy

Just gettin' my craft on!

Tim Holtz

Cutting edge paper crafting products, tools, tips and ideas.

kwernerdesign blog

Just gettin' my craft on!

Jennifer McGuire Ink

Just gettin' my craft on!

A Blog Named Hero

Just gettin' my craft on!

