Daily Archives: February 29, 2016

From The Heart Stamps Sketch #141

Hello friends!  Happy Monday!  I’m here with this weeks sketch challenge at From The Heart Stamps.  These are great challenges because you can use just the sketch, or if you’d like, add the twist. The only requirement is that you use a From The Heart image – the rest is up to you. The twist for this challenge is to make an easel card!  If you’ve never made an easel, here’s a great tutorial from Split Coast Stampers. 

Sketch141

I used only the sketch this week and turned it around for fun. My image is called, “Precious Gift” which I colored up with Sakura Glaze pens.  These are so luscious.  The design paper is DIY by Simple Stories.  I finished off with some faux stitching and a few enamel dots.

Sketch 141

You have until Sunday, March 6th to enter Sketch #141 at From The Heart Stamps.  Hope to see you there!

The House That Stamps Built; Project for the week of 2/29/16

Hello stampers.  Kathy, The Crafty Nurse here “leaping” into some fun background techniques this month for my project of the week at The House that Stamps Built!  I hope you’ll find some helpful information in my post today that helps you move forward on your crafting journey.

I have always love techniques and playing with inks.  I found that Copic Various Refills have the same properties as regular adirondack alcohol inks so any technique you do with those, can be done with Copic refills.  I’ve listed just a few of my favorites.

Lets get started!

For this project the supplies you’ll need are:

FebPOTW1

Copics on Vellum (BG49 & RV25)FebPOTW2

Begin with BG49 at the bottom of a strip of vellum.  I would recommend using a piece larger than you actually need.  With good consistent pressure, color back and forth to the midpoint of your vellum.

FebPOTW3

Next, take your colorless blender and soften out the BG49 toward the top.

FebPOTW4

Then, reverse the strip of paper and from the other end begin doing the same with your RV25. You can see that it is beginning to create a third color in the middle as they mix together.

FebPOTW5

Then bring back the colorless blender again to go over the entire piece.

IMG_3772

Do not be alarmed when you get ink that transfers to your colorless blender.  It’s not ruined. Simply color back and forth on clean scratch paper and it will be good as new.  You may still see color, but it won’t come off on your next project.

IMG_3763

To clean up your work space, grab the 91% alcohol and spray it liberally, then pick up with paper towel or cotton square.

FebPOTW7

Here is the vellum panel stamped with Repeat Impressions “Life is not 6113-k”

FebPOTW8

The next technique is so easy, but makes an impressive background. The key to getting great movement with alcohol inks is using either glossy card stock or specialty stamping paper by Ranger.

FebPOTW9

Start by placing drops of various refills on a non-porous surface.  I just used my craft mat to dot random patterns of the three ink refills. I then took a spray bottle with 91% alcohol (you can get this at Walmart or any pharmacy store), and gave 3 good sprays.

FebPOTW10

Then, dip your glossy card stock into the ink and viola!  You can leave it like it is, or keep dipping until you are satisfied.

FebPOTW11

The next technique drops ink directly on the paper.  You can use vellum, glossy, or even transparencies.

FebPOTW12

After applying the ink droplets you can spray with the 91% Alcohol to get movement.

FebPOTW13

This next technique also uses ink direct to paper, but adds even more movement by blowing through a straw when the ink is still wet.  You must work quickly as these inks dry fast!

FebPOTW14

This next technique uses a pipette filled with 91% alcohol to drip small amounts over a copic colored background.  This would be great for water scenes.

FebPOTW16

Finally, here are the creations I made during my creative play today. I hope you’ve gotten a few tips and tricks this week at The House That Stamps Built and we look forward to seeing your cards in our current challenge this week.

FebPOTW17

Sandy Allnock

Helping release your God-given creativiity

The Season

-The Ton -

My Impressions

Just gettin' my craft on!

Paper and Ink Imaginings

just playing with paper and ink

Simon Says Stamp Blog

Just gettin' my craft on!

The Frugal Crafter Blog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lindy's Gang

Join the Lindy's color revolution!

the CLASSroom

Just gettin' my craft on!

Tiddly Inks

Just gettin' my craft on!

The Daily Marker

Just gettin' my craft on!

Just Add Ink

Just gettin' my craft on!

Deconstructing Jen

Handmade Cards | Paper Crafts | Crochet

Cards in Envy

Just gettin' my craft on!

K Werner Design Blog

Just gettin' my craft on!

Jennifer McGuire Ink

Just gettin' my craft on!

A Blog Named Hero

Just gettin' my craft on!