The House That Stamps Built; Project for the week of 6/13/16

Hello stampers.  Kathy, The Crafty Nurse back for a fun “how’d you do that” technique using fishtail dies for this months project of the week at The House that Stamps Built!  It looks difficult, but is actually super easy.  As we are fast approaching 4th of July, I used a patriotic theme.

Lets get started!

For this project the supplies you’ll need are:

  • Die Cutting Machine, any type
  • Flag or chevron type die
  • Design Paper or Colored Card Stock
  • Cardbase
  • Washi or Low Tack Tape
  • Liquid Glue, I used Tombow Mono Liquid
  • Craft Tweezers
  • Dye Ink, I used Hero Arts Shadow in Royal Red
  • Repeat Impressions Stamps of your choice, I used: 3702-G, USA

June1

To begin, choose a die that has a 90 degree angle.  I happen to have a set of 4 dies from Sunny Studios called “Fishtail Banners” but you can use the other style I’ve shown here by My Favorite Things called, “stitched edges” or even an actual flag die as long as it’s large enough.

June2

Next, temporarily tape together two of the dies to create your chevron.  You can make it any size you like.  To make it bigger, simply add more space between each die. The middle channel between the two cutting edges is the size of the chevron you’ll get.

June3

June4

Now it’s time to cut.  Align the center point of the die with the middle of a 4 1/4 x 5 1/2 inch piece of design paper or card stock.  This is a perfect size for this particular die as it extends to both ends but if it’s smaller or bigger, you can just trim to the desired size.

June5

Here is the size of the chevron I’ve cut.

June6

For the next cut, simply place the dies on the edge and repeat. This keeps the size of the chevrons the same.

June7

Okay – now for the assembly.  Simply interlock the two alternating colors in an under/over pattern.

June9

Then decide how large of a center opening you want by placing your chevrons on a 4 1/4 x 5 1/5 inch piece of card stock.

June10

It’s now time for some glue.  It’s much, much easier if you use liquid glue so you can adjust your pieces.  I grasp the two chevron’s together and using a fine tipped bottle, add my glue.

June11

I then begin placing the chevrons using craft tweezers.  You can alternate under and over patterning, but honestly, it really doesn’t matter.  Just make sure you get realatively regular placement.

June12

June13

Continue laying down the chevrons until you have the outcome you like.  You can add a few, or fill up the whole page, it’s totally up to you.

June14

Here’s my final card.

June15

Thank you much for joining me here today at The House That Stamps Built blog.  Let me know if you have any questions and stop by on Wednesday for our Photo Inspiration Challenge.

About urrn4u

Hi! I'm Kathy, a Southern Californian native who has lived in the west coast, midwest, northeast and now the southeast. I'm a Registered Nurse who lives for the creation of Art. I am currently on the Design Teams of Cards in Envy, From The Heart Stamps, and Technique Junkies with previous design credits for A Blog Named Hero, A Day For Daisies, Creative Vision, From the Heart Stamps, Open-Minded Crafting, Repeat Impressions Stamps, Sketch Saturday, Send a Smile 4 Kids and Try Stampin' On Tuesday. I've also guest designed for Crafting By Design, Kenny K, The Alley Way, and Simon Says Stamp. I am married 25+ years to a wonderful man and have two very special grown sons, Dan and Matt.

Posted on June 13, 2016, in Repeat Impressions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Awesome card and tutorial – thanks for sharing. Now to find some dies that work for me.

    Like

  2. It’s appropriate time to make some plans for the future and
    it is time to be happy. I’ve read this post and
    if I could I wish to suggest you some interesting things or tips.
    Perhaps you could write next articles referring
    to this article. I want to read even more things about it!

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

Art Anthology

Where art begins...

Sandy Allnock

Fearfully, wonderfully made! —Ps 139:14

Stamp, Ink, Paper Challenge

Weekly Challenge Blog

The Season

-The Ton -

My Impressions

Just gettin' my craft on!

Paper and Ink Imaginings

just playing with paper and ink

Simon Says Stamp Blog

Just gettin' my craft on!

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lindy's Stamp Gang

Join the Lindy's color revolution!

the CLASSroom

Just gettin' my craft on!

Tiddly Inks

Just gettin' my craft on!

The Daily Marker

Just gettin' my craft on!

Just Add Ink

Just gettin' my craft on!

Deconstructing Jen

Crafting with Jen Shults

Cards in Envy

Just gettin' my craft on!

Tim Holtz

Cutting edge paper crafting products, tools, tips and ideas.

kwernerdesign blog

Just gettin' my craft on!

Jennifer McGuire Ink

Just gettin' my craft on!

A Blog Named Hero

Just gettin' my craft on!

