Technique Junkies – Blowing in the Breeze

Hey Junkies,

The Crafty Nurse  here today thinking about my summer vacation on the beach!  A girl can dream, right?

I used the Misti stamping tool to create my card today. The great thing about this tool is when you have a solid stamp, you can still get a really crisp image.  It also helps when you are doing more complex masking like I did here with the Technique Junkies stamp “Palm Tree’s Set Of 3 SS069.”

The technique is not complicated.  I’ve taken Palm Tree’s Set of 3 #SS069 and used the Misti tool to create a multilayered effect with Distress Markers.  The Misti allows you to keep your stamp in the same place and repeatedly use different colors. I saw this technique by the wonderful Jill Foster and thought it would be perfect for this TJ Stamp.

Steps:

1) Place stamp in Misti to desired position

2) Color trunk of tree beginning with Frayed Burlap Distress Marker stamping in between each new color addition. Move on to darker colors in Gathered Twigs and Espresso to create shadow and depth.

3) Now apply Distress Marker to trees in the same fashion.  I used Shabby Shutters and Peeled Paint.

4) Once all the coloring is done, apply versamark and heat set. This creates a protective layer and allows you to work on the background without dulling your focal image colors.

5) Reverse Mask Moon by using die cut circle through masking paper. Apply Distress Ink in Mustard Seed and Fossilized Amber

6) Complete card with the sentiment  “Winds of Change”

I hope you’ve found a little inspiration today.  If you’d like to try this technique, you can pick up this stamp at Technique Junkies using the 10% discount TJ10Kathy.  If you have any questions, leave a comment and I’ll be happy to assist.  Or you can join us in the Facebook group to enjoy some stamping conversation and card inspiration.

Pat is still offering her new release stamps at 15% off as well so happy shopping.

The Crafty Nurse

Entered in:

Mixitup badge

Mixed It Up Challenge Blog

About urrn4u

Hi! I'm Kathy, a Southern Californian native who has lived in the west coast, midwest, northeast and now the southeast. I'm a Registered Nurse who lives for the creation of Art. I am currently on the Design Teams of Cards in Envy, From The Heart Stamps, and Technique Junkies with previous design credits for A Blog Named Hero, A Day For Daisies, Creative Vision, From the Heart Stamps, Open-Minded Crafting, Repeat Impressions Stamps, Sketch Saturday, Send a Smile 4 Kids and Try Stampin' On Tuesday. I've also guest designed for Crafting By Design, Kenny K, The Alley Way, and Simon Says Stamp. I am married 25+ years to a wonderful man and have two very special grown sons, Dan and Matt.

Posted on April 5, 2017, in Technique Junkies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Kathy…I love your card. It is beautiful. I really like the sentiment you have on it but it is not the one that comes with the stamp set of the palm trees. Where could I find it? Thank you.

    Like

  2. Stephanie Allison

    Who makes the sentiment stamp? This is beautiful! Thank you for sharing. Stephanie Allison

    ________________________________

    Like

  3. What a breathtaking result! I enjoyed reading through your process 🙂 thanks for joining us at MIUCB for some pre challenge fun!

    Like

  4. Wow Kathy what an awesome card you have made here. Such detail and hope you get to that vacation on the beach and sit on a deck chair sipping a good wine. Thanks soooooooooo much for sharing this beauty with us for our fun challenge over at Mix It Up. Hope you will be a regular and can pop in from time to time.

    Like

  5. Fabulous card! Thank you for joining us at our ‘Just For Fun Challenge’ at Mix It Up Challenge Blog. We hope to see you again.
    ~DT Sherry x

    Like

  6. What a wonderful project! Love all the detail! Thanks so much for sharing with us in the Mix It Up Challenge Blog’s “Just For Fun” challenge! Excited to see you again when our regular challenge line-up begins on May 1st!
    Hugs,
    Leslie, MIUCB DT
    Love To Scrap 2

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

Sandy Allnock

Fearfully, wonderfully made! —Ps 139:14

Stamp, Ink, Paper Challenge

Weekly Challenge Blog

The Season

-The Ton -

My Impressions

Just gettin' my craft on!

Paper and Ink Imaginings

just playing with paper and ink

Simon Says Stamp Blog

Just gettin' my craft on!

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lindy's Stamp Gang

Join the Lindy's color revolution!

the CLASSroom

Just gettin' my craft on!

Tiddly Inks

Just gettin' my craft on!

The Daily Marker

Just gettin' my craft on!

Just Add Ink

Just gettin' my craft on!

Deconstructing Jen

Crafting with Jen Shults

Cards in Envy

Just gettin' my craft on!

Tim Holtz

Cutting edge paper crafting products, tools, tips and ideas.

kwernerdesign blog

Just gettin' my craft on!

Jennifer McGuire Ink

Just gettin' my craft on!

A Blog Named Hero

Just gettin' my craft on!

