The House That Stamps Built; Project for the week 8/8/16

Hello stampers.  Kathy, The Crafty Nurse here with some tips and tricks to embossing on Mulberry for my project of the week at The House that Stamps Built!

I was digging through my stash the other day and found some gorgeous mulberry paper and wanted to share how to use this supply for your focal image.

Lets get started!

For this project the supplies you’ll need are:

POTW

Begin by treating your piece of mulberry paper with an embossing buddy or powder.  This helps so the embossing powder doesn’t stick.

POTW1

Stamp and apply your powder to the mulberry – I used gold.

POTW2

Emboss you image with a heat gun.  I used “Shade of Elm” Make sure before you apply the heat to let your tool heat up for a few minutes so when you do emboss, it’s quick.

POTW3

Now we are going to make a “torn edge”.  To do that, take your aqua or water brush and paint a line around your image.  You can create a square, a circle, or an oval.  For that matter you can draw any shape you like.

POTW4

I used a square for my shape but rounded the edges in my final project.

POTW5

To get the torn edge, just pull the mulberry toward you while it is still wet.

POTW6

Here is the final mulberry stamped piece.

POTW7

To create the background of your card, choose an image with texture.  I stamped “Pine Silhouette”  and clear embossed.

POTW8

I then distressed with Gathered Twigs Distress Ink.

POTW9

Then applied water splatters.

POTW10

Wipe off the extra ink over the embossing.

POTW11

Apply a clear stick glue to the back.

POTW12

Adhere to your project.

POTW13

Stamp your sentiment.  I used the Stamp-a-Majig to stamp Plate 8600 sentiment, “Wishing you Happy”.

POTW14

Finally, put all your elements together for your final card.

POTWCard

I hope you’ve gotten a few tips and tricks this week at The House That Stamps Built and we look forward to seeing your cards in our current challenge this week.

About urrn4u

Hi! I'm Kathy, a Southern Californian native who has lived in the west coast, midwest, northeast and now the southeast. I'm a Registered Nurse who lives for the creation of Art. I am currently on the Design Teams of Cards in Envy, From The Heart Stamps, and Technique Junkies with previous design credits for A Blog Named Hero, A Day For Daisies, Creative Vision, From the Heart Stamps, Open-Minded Crafting, Repeat Impressions Stamps, Sketch Saturday, Send a Smile 4 Kids and Try Stampin' On Tuesday. I've also guest designed for Crafting By Design, Kenny K, The Alley Way, and Simon Says Stamp. I am married 25+ years to a wonderful man and have two very special grown sons, Dan and Matt.

Posted on August 8, 2016, in Repeat Impressions and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. wow just beautiful!! Love your work Kathy!!

    Like

  2. I knew I should have saved all of that old mulberry paper! Beautifully done, Kathy! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

Art Anthology

Where art begins...

Sandy Allnock

Fearfully, wonderfully made! —Ps 139:14

Stamp, Ink, Paper Challenge

Weekly Challenge Blog

The Season

-The Ton -

My Impressions

Just gettin' my craft on!

Paper and Ink Imaginings

just playing with paper and ink

Simon Says Stamp Blog

Just gettin' my craft on!

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lindy's Stamp Gang

Join the Lindy's color revolution!

the CLASSroom

Just gettin' my craft on!

Tiddly Inks

Just gettin' my craft on!

The Daily Marker

Just gettin' my craft on!

Just Add Ink

Just gettin' my craft on!

Deconstructing Jen

Crafting with Jen Shults

Cards in Envy

Just gettin' my craft on!

Tim Holtz

Cutting edge paper crafting products, tools, tips and ideas.

kwernerdesign blog

Just gettin' my craft on!

Jennifer McGuire Ink

Just gettin' my craft on!

A Blog Named Hero

Just gettin' my craft on!

