Mixed Media Monthly Challenge; Time Flies & Class Work

Hello friends.  Between the fabulous Creative Jump Start and the amazing Wanderlust 2016 courses I’m taking I’ve been having a great time playing with paint and ink.  Today I made an several projects.

My first is an entry for the Mixed Media Challenge for Time Flies.  

time

My page began with Dylusion’s Paints in Lemon Zest, Fresh Lime, and Vibrant Turquoise applied with the blending tool.  I added some Tim Holtz Stencils, a few Close to My Heart Stamps, and marks with a cap and a credit card. It’s a really basic page but just trying out some of the techniques I’m learning.

IMG_3654

My next project was inspired by Andrea Gomoll from the Creative Jumpstart Course on Frida Kahlo.  It was done with watercolors. Frida painted a lot of vibrant colors and self portraits and the flowers are supposed to mimic a hat.

IMG_3653

My next project is a cover page for the beginning of a journal as taught in Wanderlust 2016.  This is an entire year of classes taught by multiple teachers and I’m already have a blast.  I didn’t have the tools that were used in class so I’m not as happy with it as I thought, but again, I’m learning so hopefully will get better.  I was excited to learn more about collage, balance, and placement.

IMG_3655 (1)

Entered in:

Mixed Media Monthly: Time Flies

Open Minded Crafting: Try Something New

Addicted to Stamps: ATG

About urrn4u

Hi! I'm Kathy, a Southern Californian native who has lived in the west coast, midwest, northeast and now the southeast. I'm a Registered Nurse who lives for the creation of Art. I am currently on the Design Teams of Cards in Envy, From The Heart Stamps, and Technique Junkies with previous design credits for A Blog Named Hero, A Day For Daisies, Creative Vision, From the Heart Stamps, Open-Minded Crafting, Repeat Impressions Stamps, Sketch Saturday, Send a Smile 4 Kids and Try Stampin' On Tuesday. I've also guest designed for Crafting By Design, Kenny K, The Alley Way, and Simon Says Stamp. I am married 25+ years to a wonderful man and have two very special grown sons, Dan and Matt.

Posted on January 16, 2016, in Addicted to Stamps, Open-Minded Crafting Challenge, The Mixed Media Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Kathy, these are amazing! Real job!

    Like

  2. Wow I can see you have been having so much fun here with your paints, great work I love it.
    Thank you for sharing with us over here at Open-Minded Crafting Fun Challenge and best of luck with your entry.
    Annette DT Member

    Like

  3. Great journal work. I would love to journal but am too intimidated.

    Like

  4. WOW! What a lovely journal project, Kathy! Amazing details. Thanks for joining us at ATSM.
    x Asha

    Like

  5. Now, this looks like you had lots of fun with the fabulous beauty. Especially as yourself to be part of the fun. Thanks for joining in on the fun over at Open-Minded Crafting Fun. We look forward to seeing you again.
    Hugs    
    Berni,DT
    open-mindedcraftingfun.

    Like

  6. Beautiful projects! Love all the inky goodness and timepieces! Thanks for joining along with the MMMC 🙂

    Like

  7. Lovely art journal!!!
    Thank you for joining us at ATSM!
    Lilian
    The Leaf Studio

    Like

  8. Kathy!!! These are wonderful!! I love it.. going to have to look at Wanderlust.. how fun to learn!! And those flowers.. definitely look like a hat!! LOVE it!!! And your journal pages.. they turned out just gorgeous!!!! Love them both!! Thanks so much for playing along with us at Open-Minded Crafting Fun Challenges!!! Good Luck! I hope we see you again!!

    – Susan, Owner @ Open-Minded Crafting Fun Challenges
    {Scrap A Thousand Words}
    {Sentimental Susan – Etsy}
    {Sentimental Susan – Zibbet}

    Like

  9. Kathy, these are all great, but I really love the one with the flowers! I can totally see the connection with Frida Kahlo inspiration! Thanks for joining us at Open-Minded Crafting Fun Challenges, good luck! Hope to see you back again soon.

    Hanne, DT

    Like

  10. I love these projects, I need to branch out more with mixed media! Thanks for joining us at Open minded Crafting Fun!

    Monica
    OMCF DT

    Like

  11. Looove the way the color jumps off your page! Thank you so much for playing with us at The Mixed Media Monthly Challenge!!

    Like

  12. beautiful pieces! Thank you so much for playing with the Mixed Media Monthly Challenge!

    -Rachel
    http://www.rwkrafts.com

    Like

  13. Lovely pieces and sometimes like this basic is elegant. Thank you for joining us for our challenge ‘Try Something New’ at Open-Minded Crafting Fun.
    Samantha (AngelicBadGirl) DT

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

Sandy Allnock

Fearfully, wonderfully made! —Ps 139:14

Stamp, Ink, Paper Challenge

Weekly Challenge Blog

The Season

-The Ton -

My Impressions

Just gettin' my craft on!

Paper and Ink Imaginings

just playing with paper and ink

Simon Says Stamp Blog

Just gettin' my craft on!

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lindy's Stamp Gang

Join the Lindy's color revolution!

the CLASSroom

Just gettin' my craft on!

Tiddly Inks

Just gettin' my craft on!

The Daily Marker

Just gettin' my craft on!

Just Add Ink

Just gettin' my craft on!

Deconstructing Jen

Crafting with Jen Shults

Cards in Envy

Just gettin' my craft on!

Tim Holtz

Cutting edge paper crafting products, tools, tips and ideas.

kwernerdesign blog

Just gettin' my craft on!

Jennifer McGuire Ink

Just gettin' my craft on!

A Blog Named Hero

Just gettin' my craft on!

