The House That Stamps Built; Project of the week: 1-11-16

Hello stampers!  The Crafty Nurse here with some creative play for The House that Stamps Built project of the week.  I have always been drawn to pattern paper and when I found the “Herringbone” technique back when I first joined Club Scrap, I fell in love.  So today, I’d like to bring you a post on how to make your own Herringbone card.

Let’s get started!

For this project the supplies I used are:

JanPOTW1

To start, apply the double sided Carpet Tape to your card base and set aside.

JanPOTW2

Cut design paper in 1/4 inch strips.  You can also do this with any size of paper strips or even vary the sizes of paper on the same project.  It all looks great.

JanPOTW4

I chose four (4) different patterns for variety.  You want to chose a large print, a small print and a more open print.

JanPOTW5

Take your bone folder and burnish down the carpet tape in preparation for adding paper.

JanPOTW3

Peel off the backing of your carpet tape to expose the adhesive.

JanPOTW6

Begin to place your paper strips by placing the 1st one diagonally across the card, then applying a strip to each side of center.  If you are using 6 x 6 paper like I did, your 1st piece won’t be big enough.  Simply place another piece to extend across the diagonal of the card.  It also doesn’t matter where you place the side pieces as long as you have the basic start like my picture.

JanPOTW7

Continue to apply strips of paper alternatively.  I tend to use the same pattern on the left and right of center.

JanPOTW8

Continue placing the strips down alternatively in a pleasing pattern.

JanPOTW9

Once you finish your back and forth placement of paper you will have a lot of strips hanging over the edge.  JanPOTW10

Turn over the card and trim the strips off.

JanPOTW11

Once you’ve trimmed it up, this is your end result.

 

JanPOTW12

I like to smooth out my cutting with the Tim Holtz sanding tool.

JanPOTW13

Stamp the Repeat Impressions Silhouette Heart using red ink on a circle die.

JanPOTW14

 

Stamp the love sentiment from “you 10100” in the center of the heart with black ink.

JanPOTW15

Apply your heart to the Herringbone background and you now have a finished card!  I just love the way this technique looks.

JanPOTW16

I hope you enjoyed learning more about the Herringbone technique. Beginning Wednesday, January 13th, I am hosting the Designer’s Choice Challenge with the theme of “Winter Wonderland”.

I’d love to see your herringbone backgrounds in the challenge at The House That Stamps Built where you will have a chance to win a $25.00 gift certificate for our randomly chose winner.

I wish you a wonderful rest of the week!

The Crafty Nurse

About urrn4u

Hi! I'm Kathy, a Southern Californian native who has lived in the west coast, midwest, northeast and now the southeast. I'm a Registered Nurse who lives for the creation of Art. I am currently on the Design Teams of Cards in Envy, From The Heart Stamps, and Technique Junkies with previous design credits for A Blog Named Hero, A Day For Daisies, Creative Vision, From the Heart Stamps, Open-Minded Crafting, Repeat Impressions Stamps, Sketch Saturday, Send a Smile 4 Kids and Try Stampin' On Tuesday. I've also guest designed for Crafting By Design, Kenny K, The Alley Way, and Simon Says Stamp. I am married 25+ years to a wonderful man and have two very special grown sons, Dan and Matt.

Posted on January 11, 2016, in Repeat Impressions and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I just made a herringbone card a few days ago. They’re fun, aren’t they? Love your striking color combination…that’s the palette in my craft room!

    Kathy, I know I read it somewhere and can’t find it now here or on FTHS. What light box do you use for taking pictures? My pictures are very washed out and I think it might be because my light box has built in lights…from the top…and it’s too much light maybe. I dunno!

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

Art Anthology

Where art begins...

Sandy Allnock

Fearfully, wonderfully made! —Ps 139:14

Stamp, Ink, Paper Challenge

Weekly Challenge Blog

The Season

-The Ton -

My Impressions

Just gettin' my craft on!

Paper and Ink Imaginings

just playing with paper and ink

Simon Says Stamp Blog

Just gettin' my craft on!

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lindy's Stamp Gang

Join the Lindy's color revolution!

the CLASSroom

Just gettin' my craft on!

Tiddly Inks

Just gettin' my craft on!

The Daily Marker

Just gettin' my craft on!

Just Add Ink

Just gettin' my craft on!

Deconstructing Jen

Crafting with Jen Shults

Cards in Envy

Just gettin' my craft on!

Tim Holtz

Cutting edge paper crafting products, tools, tips and ideas.

kwernerdesign blog

Just gettin' my craft on!

Jennifer McGuire Ink

Just gettin' my craft on!

A Blog Named Hero

Just gettin' my craft on!

