A Day For Daisies: Sequins Challenge 8-14-15

It’s Friday and time for a new challenge at A Day For Daisies!  It’s all about sequins! I don’t know about you but I love sequins and I know we all have more than enough to create some beautiful cards and projects.

For my Design Team inspiration, I chose one of the new release stamps called,  “Vintage Lip Color.”  I colored this beauty with Copic Markers using a deep green to simulate velvet. For her hair I took a very stiff stencil brush and tapped it on the chisel end of my Copics to pick up color, then tapped in onto the hair creating that great texture.  It’s a little challenging to get the colors just right, but with some practice I think you’ll love this technique.

The paper pad is from Echo Park called “Getaway” and the scalloped die for the awning is Lawn Fawn. To finish off the card I added gold and silver sequins then placed a dot of Diamond Stickles in the center for some added bling.  I like to fill in my sequins.

The sequins challenge will run through Thursday, August 27th at Noon.  See you at A Day For Daisies Blog!

We’d also love for you to visit our Facebook Community Page as we’d love to see your cards there too!

Vintage Lip-wm

Entered in:

Doodle Pantry: ATG

Addicted to Stamps: Make Your Mark (stipple brush and Marker for hair)

Crafting By Design: 3 or more layers

Design Team Show Case: August

About urrn4u

Hi! I'm Kathy, a Southern Californian native who has lived in the west coast, midwest, northeast and now the southeast. I'm a Registered Nurse who lives for the creation of Art. I am currently on the Design Teams of Cards in Envy, From The Heart Stamps, and Technique Junkies with previous design credits for A Blog Named Hero, A Day For Daisies, Creative Vision, From the Heart Stamps, Open-Minded Crafting, Repeat Impressions Stamps, Sketch Saturday, Send a Smile 4 Kids and Try Stampin' On Tuesday. I've also guest designed for Crafting By Design, Kenny K, The Alley Way, and Simon Says Stamp. I am married 25+ years to a wonderful man and have two very special grown sons, Dan and Matt.

Posted on August 14, 2015, in A Day For Daisies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I truly LOVE your style ! Your choice of colors is so lovely on this Beauty, the Mermaid, the Birdies and the Baby Boy on the Birdie. You blew me away ! Each time I saw one of your cards I’d call my sweet Hubby over to see it. He really likes Mermaid the best, she is in my inspiration file, to remind me to go see your cards. Thank you for sharing your works of Art with us. You are a like a double Rainbow after a storm, Hugs Holly

    Like

    • Holly, that is by far the nicest thing anyone has every said about my cards. I so appreciate your feedback. Being on the ADFD DT is a dream of mine and was thrilled when I was chosen to be on the team. I love coloring and look forward to providing lots of inspiration. Thanks so much for stopping by and if your not following my blog already, please do so you can see all my fun creations 🙂

      Like

  2. Love your coloring! Thanks for sharing your techniques. Can’t wait to try them.

    Like

  3. Lovely card, Kathy. Super coloring, love the technique and results of her hair. Thanks for playing along at ATSM MYM this week. Melissa – DT.

    Like

  4. Kathy, this is adorable !! Your coloring is amazing and the Designpaper fits really great !!

    PS: Your entry for the FTHS SOTM August Challenge and Sketch #115 is super cute. I wanted to left some love but i don´t have a Yahoo Account/Flickr. Sorry !

    Like

  5. Annie Abrahamson

    Hi Kathy! Another beauty showcasing your awesome coloring! Thanks so much for sharing this stunner in Doodle Pantry’s AIMPDC #8!

    Like

  6. Gorgeous image and fabulous coloring! Thanks for playing with us at ATSM!

    Like

  7. beautiful card! Love the coloring and the matching papers!
    Thanks for playing along in the Design Team Showcase.
    Hugs,
    Natalie

    Like

  8. What a strong & bold design Kathy. Combing a large patterned backing paper with an image can be tricky, as you run the risk of overpowering your central image, but you have got the balance just perfect. Inspirational! Thank you for joining us at Design Team Showcase for challenge #18. AELx

    Like

  9. Love the coloring and design choices! Thank you for entering Design Team Showcase.

    Kim
    {Craftisan Studios}
    Design Team Showcase

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

Sandy Allnock

Fearfully, wonderfully made! —Ps 139:14

Stamp, Ink, Paper Challenge

Weekly Challenge Blog

The Season

-The Ton -

My Impressions

Just gettin' my craft on!

Paper and Ink Imaginings

just playing with paper and ink

Simon Says Stamp Blog

Just gettin' my craft on!

Balzer Designs

Just gettin' my craft on!

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lindy's Stamp Gang

Join the Lindy's color revolution!

the CLASSroom

Just gettin' my craft on!

Tiddly Inks

Just gettin' my craft on!

The Daily Marker

Just gettin' my craft on!

Just Add Ink

Just gettin' my craft on!

Deconstructing Jen

Crafting with Jen Shults

Cards in Envy

Just gettin' my craft on!

Tim Holtz

Cutting edge paper crafting products, tools, tips and ideas.

kwernerdesign blog

Just gettin' my craft on!

Jennifer McGuire Ink

Just gettin' my craft on!

A Blog Named Hero

Just gettin' my craft on!

