Technique Junkies Blog Hop!

Is it August 1st already?  Well you all know what that means – Time for the Technique Junkie Design Team’s  blog hop showcasing the new Technique Junkies stamps for August.

I really loved this new release as the stamps beg for the application of color and vibrancy.  In addition to a bunch of cool new stamps, there are stencils, art anthology colorations, and a variety of new dimensional mediums perfect for those who like to play with ink.  As a special treat, Pat is offering 15% off all August Release Stamps for one week!  WooHoo!

I’d love for you to stop by all the design team’s blogs for great ideas and samples of other new August Release stamps  you can find in the Technique Junkies Store.

My first card uses the Grunged Stencil Tutorial on the Sensational Stencils CD for the background.   This is a super easy technique and fun with all types of stencils.  My stencil is from Dina Wakely and my ink is Distress.  I then “grunged” it using my own concoction of Perfect Pearls Spray made with water and powdered perfect pearls.

My focal image is a new Pallettini Stamp made exclusively for Technique Junkies called, Let’s Face it 5 #P030.  If you haven’t seen this series, there are some great faces in this collection so please check them out.

I stamped her on Copic X-Press It paper and colored her using E42, E33, and E25 Copic Markers.  I then stamped her headpiece using Versamark and clear embossing ink over Basic Grey’s “kneehigh” collection.  After fussy cutting her headpiece, I then applied it back on the image using Collage Pauge and once that dried, applied highlights using a Pitt Artist Pen in Brown.  This is a great way to add depth into your paper piecing. My final step was to add some Club Scrap fiber.

August Faces 5-wm

My second card uses the “Stencil Collage and Stencil Turn Techniques also from the Sensation Stencil CD”.  After stamping the “Contemporary Floral #S638” with Versafine Onyx Black and heat embossing with clear, I applied Abandoned Coral, Mowed Lawn, and Squeezed Lemonade through a Crafters Workshop stencil.  The background was then created using the same colors of distress paint as I did distress ink then applied black paint through a Heidi Swapp Herringbone Stencil. The sentiment is “Kindness Matters DX026.”

August Flowers-wm

My final card  uses the “Saturated Stencil Technique,” from the Sensational Stencils CD.  Don’t these CD’s have tons of great techniques?  I used Distress Stains in Picked Raspberry, Spiced Marmalade, and Squeezed Lemonade to create my background.  I then lifted up ink through the Tim Holtz Star Stencil using water and heat embossed “Circus Stars #S614” with white powder.  For the focal image I stamped and heat embossed “Lovers Silhouette #SD636” then colored it using the same colors from the background.  For my sentiment I created a banner from “Forever and a Day #SD599”

August Love-wm

Now, that I’ve shown you what I have to offer, I don’t want you to miss any of the other design teams creativity so I encourage you to start hopping at the Technique Junkies Design Team Blog.

If you are arriving from  Robin Redd’s  Blog, you in the right place!  Gorgeous project Robin!

The next stop is at Pat Huntoon’s Blog.

Here is a list of the Design Team lineup:

Design Team Blog http://techniquejunkies.blogspot.com

Pam DeChellis http://journeyawakensthesoul.blogspot.com

Sally Lynn MacDonald  http://www.sallylynnmacdonald.com

Beth Norman http://sunflowers-dragonflies.ca/blog

Jane Bosi http://janembosi.blogspot.com

Jerri Jones http://www.abushelandahug.blogspot.com

Gini Cagle http://ginicagle.blogspot.com

Judy Jackson  http://judysstampart.blogspot.com

Marilyn Hughes http://DollsEtc.blogspot.com

Robin Redd  http://robinredd.typepad.com/reddrobinstudios/

Kathy Stacy https://craftynurse4u.wordpress.com – That’s Me!

Pat Huntoon http://patstamps.blogspot.com

I sure hope you enjoy the Technique Junkies August Release Hop! Don’t forget – 15% off August Stamps for the next week only!

Entered in:

Addicted to Stamps: Photo

About urrn4u

Hi! I'm Kathy, a Southern Californian native who has lived in the west coast, midwest, northeast and now the southeast. I'm a Registered Nurse who lives for the creation of Art. I am currently on the Design Teams of Cards in Envy, From The Heart Stamps, and Technique Junkies with previous design credits for A Blog Named Hero, A Day For Daisies, Creative Vision, From the Heart Stamps, Open-Minded Crafting, Repeat Impressions Stamps, Sketch Saturday, Send a Smile 4 Kids and Try Stampin' On Tuesday. I've also guest designed for Crafting By Design, Kenny K, The Alley Way, and Simon Says Stamp. I am married 25+ years to a wonderful man and have two very special grown sons, Dan and Matt.

Posted on August 1, 2015, in Technique Junkies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Your cards are all done to perfection. They are all so gorgeous done up in the bright colours. Love the fibre on the hat, and that background. Wow.

    Like

  2. All of your cards are beautiful but that first one is a real stunner! I LOVE it. Great job. You are sooo creative.

    Like

  3. Your talent knows no bounds Kathy. Totally awesome creations here. Lots of fun creating them for sure. Just fabulous.

    Like

  4. Shelly Schmidt

    You have created three gorgeous cards- I just love the turbin and fibers on card #1- you knocked the ball out of the park- Fabulous!

    Like

  5. That first card is so one of my favorites, Kathy. The colors are stunning. I love the background you created and the way you colored the beautiful face and the pieced hat. Positively gorgeous, gf!!

    Like

  6. All your colors are beautiful, but I absolutely LOVE your face card! Striking coloring and the fibers add so much!

    Like

  7. Cornelia (fun stamping)

    Stunning card – especially the second one! Love that stamp!

    Like

  8. Love all of these cards especially the first and third ones.

    Like

  9. Very cool designed cards! Thank you very much for your participation into the ATSM Challenge. Creative regards from stempelfrida

    Like

  10. Your flower card is stunning I come here to see it from close and I adore this that stamp and the color combo soo funtastic
    great card all
    and many thanks for joining us at ATSM this time
    hugs, Monika /(DT)

    Like

  11. This is fabulous! The background you created is beautiful
    Thank you for always encouraging me

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

Art Anthology

Where art begins...

Sandy Allnock

Fearfully, wonderfully made! —Ps 139:14

Stamp, Ink, Paper Challenge

Weekly Challenge Blog

The Season

-The Ton -

My Impressions

Just gettin' my craft on!

Paper and Ink Imaginings

just playing with paper and ink

Simon Says Stamp Blog

Just gettin' my craft on!

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lindy's Stamp Gang

Join the Lindy's color revolution!

the CLASSroom

Just gettin' my craft on!

Tiddly Inks

Just gettin' my craft on!

The Daily Marker

Just gettin' my craft on!

Just Add Ink

Just gettin' my craft on!

Deconstructing Jen

Crafting with Jen Shults

Cards in Envy

Just gettin' my craft on!

Tim Holtz

Cutting edge paper crafting products, tools, tips and ideas.

kwernerdesign blog

Just gettin' my craft on!

Jennifer McGuire Ink

Just gettin' my craft on!

A Blog Named Hero

Just gettin' my craft on!

