Technique Junkies July Blog Hop!

Happy July 1st fellow Junkies!  With summer here, the Technique Junkie Design Team is celebrating with a blog hop showcasing the new Technique Junkies stamps for July.  In addition to some fabulous stamps, there are stencils, art anthology colorations, and a variety of new dimensional mediums perfect for those who like to play with ink.  As a special treat, Pat is offering 15% off all July Release Stamps for one week!  WooHoo!

I’d love for you to stop by all the design team’s blogs listed below for great ideas on how to use those new July Release stamps found in the Technique Junkies Store.

My first card uses the Burnished Backgrounds Tutorial from the Simple & Easy Inking Techniques CD.   Instead of choosing just three (3) colors, I decided that I needed a rainbow to show off this stunning new July stamp called “Peonies #S626.”  The Distress inks used are Worn Lipstick, Abandoned Coral, Fossilized Amber, Twisted Citron, and Mermaid Lagoon.  The black frame is a My Favorite Things die embossed with the Swiss Dots embossing folder.  The sentiment is heat embossed using another July stamp called, “With Sympathy (set of 5) #SS049” on heavy bazzill vellum.  I finished with black pearls.

July Peonies-Burnished Backgrounds-wm

My next two cards feature an older technique from October 2006 Technique Junkies newsletter called “Powder Key Enameling.”  The goal is to layer several colors of embossing powder to create texture, which is perfect for new release stamp called, “Shells #PS009.”   The powders used are Stampendous Aged Marine, Distress in Brushed Corduroy, and Antiquities Verdigris.  I took it to the next step by adding additional distress inks in Black Soot and Gathered Twigs.  I also embossed the same powders over gold charms shells on this first example and in the second I’ve added the sentiment that comes with the “Shells #PS009” set.

July Release Shells Powder Keg1-wm

July Release Shells-Powder Keg-wm

My final card  uses the “Non-Stick Color Technique,” from the Simple & Easy Inking CD.  For this technique you typically stamp into multiple colors applied to a craft sheet, however, I used it more as a background by applying Abandoned Coral distress ink in layers.  To highlight the sentiment I first stamped and white heat embossed “With Sympathy (set of 5) #SS049,” then ran it through my Big Shot using a Tim Holtz Embossing diffuser and embossing folder.  If you aren’t familiar with the diffuser, it has shapes cut out in the middle and are used with embossing folders to allow areas to stamp. I finished the card with a few flowers and brads.

July Release-Sentiment-WM

Now, that I’ve shown you what I have to offer, I don’t want you to miss any of the other design teams creativity so I encourage you to start hopping at the Technique Junkies Design Team Blog.  If you are arriving from Sally Lynn’s Blog, your in the right place!  -Sally, you rock!

The next stop is at Pat Huntoon’s Blog.

Here is a list of the Design Team lineup:

Design Team Blog http://techniquejunkies.blogspot.com

Pam DeChellis http://journeyawakensthesoul.blogspot.com

Beth Norman http://sunflowers-dragonflies.ca/blog

Robin Redd http://robinredd.typepad.com/reddrobinstudios/

Jane Bosi http://janembosi.blogspot.com

Jerri Jones http://www.abushelandahug.blogspot.com

Marilyn Hughes http://DollsEtc.blogspot.com

Sally Lynn MacDonald http://www.sallylynnmacdonald.com

Kathy Stacy https://craftynurse4u.wordpress.com – That’s Me!

Pat Huntoon http://patstamps.blogspot.com

I sure hope you enjoy the Technique Junkies July Release Hop!  Don’t forget – 15% off July Stamps for the next week only!

Entered in:

Friday Mashup: FM215: 3’s

Brown Sugar Challenge: Summer Fun

Crafty Sentiments: Summer 

Addicted to Rubber Stamps: ATG

About urrn4u

Hi! I'm Kathy, a Southern Californian native who has lived in the west coast, midwest, northeast and now the southeast. I'm a Registered Nurse who lives for the creation of Art. I am currently on the Design Teams of Cards in Envy, From The Heart Stamps, and Technique Junkies with previous design credits for A Blog Named Hero, A Day For Daisies, Creative Vision, From the Heart Stamps, Open-Minded Crafting, Repeat Impressions Stamps, Sketch Saturday, Send a Smile 4 Kids and Try Stampin' On Tuesday. I've also guest designed for Crafting By Design, Kenny K, The Alley Way, and Simon Says Stamp. I am married 25+ years to a wonderful man and have two very special grown sons, Dan and Matt.

Posted on July 1, 2015, in Technique Junkies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Great colors!! Love these!

    Like

  2. Kathy you’ve been busy! Great cards. I love the vibrant colors and the technique on the shell card is really cool.

    Like

  3. Great techniques on your cards! Thanks for joining the Brown Sugar Challenge.

    Hugs
    Joanie DT

    Like

  4. Absolutely amazing! Swooning over your first card – keep staring at it! Thank you so much for playing with us at ATSM!

    Like

  5. I have the peony stamp and now you gave me some inspiration to try this technique with the stamp. It is so beautiful as are the rest of your designs.

    Like

  6. What a gorgeous explosion of colours and even though it’s a card for a sad occasion I am sure it made things easier. Thank you for joining us at ATSM this week!
    Kamila DT

    Like

  7. Absolutely gorgeous! Thanks again for using TJ techniques for us old-timers! xoxo

    Like

  8. Breelin Renwick

    This is a beautiful card! The 3 flowers are just the right touch! Thanks for playing along at Friday Mashup!

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

Art Anthology

Where art begins...

Sandy Allnock

Fearfully, wonderfully made! —Ps 139:14

Stamp, Ink, Paper Challenge

Weekly Challenge Blog

The Season

-The Ton -

My Impressions

Just gettin' my craft on!

Paper and Ink Imaginings

just playing with paper and ink

Simon Says Stamp Blog

Just gettin' my craft on!

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lindy's Stamp Gang

Join the Lindy's color revolution!

the CLASSroom

Just gettin' my craft on!

Tiddly Inks

Just gettin' my craft on!

The Daily Marker

Just gettin' my craft on!

Just Add Ink

Just gettin' my craft on!

Deconstructing Jen

Crafting with Jen Shults

Cards in Envy

Just gettin' my craft on!

Tim Holtz

Cutting edge paper crafting products, tools, tips and ideas.

kwernerdesign blog

Just gettin' my craft on!

Jennifer McGuire Ink

Just gettin' my craft on!

A Blog Named Hero

Just gettin' my craft on!

