Make it Monday – Papertrey Ink

As you all know I love learning new techniques.  I found this great tutorial on Nicole Heady’s blog for Make it Monday’s project this week and I definitely wanted to share it.   It calls for using cover plate dies in a different way.  Her recommendation was to offset the same die to create a shadow.  Instead of doing that, I took the Center State Die cover plate and turned it upside down.  I used Basic Grey’s “What’s Up” 6 x 6 pack and selected one solid and one with a design.  The sentiment is “lots of love” from Paper Smooches cut on a Simon Says Stamp flag die.  I colored it with copic markers in R05, R24 and R27, then covered it with wink of stella and ended it with diamond glaze from Judikins.

I like the way it came out – what do you think?

PTI Monday Challenge 2-2-15

 

Entered in:

PaperTrey Ink: MIM

Simon Says Stamp: ATG

Crafty Gals; Try Something New (Dies used new way)

CAS-ual: Friday: C&S

House of Cards: Love

Paper Smooches: ATG

About urrn4u

Hi! I'm Kathy, a Southern Californian native who has lived in the west coast, midwest, northeast and now the southeast. I'm a Registered Nurse who lives for the creation of Art. I am currently on the Design Teams of Cards in Envy, From The Heart Stamps, and Technique Junkies with previous design credits for A Blog Named Hero, A Day For Daisies, Creative Vision, From the Heart Stamps, Open-Minded Crafting, Repeat Impressions Stamps, Sketch Saturday, Send a Smile 4 Kids and Try Stampin' On Tuesday. I've also guest designed for Crafting By Design, Kenny K, The Alley Way, and Simon Says Stamp. I am married 25+ years to a wonderful man and have two very special grown sons, Dan and Matt.

Posted on February 2, 2015, in Make it Monday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. I love the design! Looks pretty cool!
    Thanks for playing along this week at Crafty Gals Corner!
    -Samantha
    Crafty Gals Corner – DT Coordinator
    Crafty Gals Corner

    Like

  2. Gorgeous, beautiful card
    Thank you for joining us at Simon says Stamp Wednesday Challenge.
    Luv
    Debby

    Like

  3. so sweet! what a great card! thanks for playing along at love to scrap challenge blog!

    Like

  4. What a sweet way to layer those cover plates. Love the colors and everything about this!

    Like

  5. very pretty and so unique.

    Like

  6. Great card, love the colour combo and the technique is fab! Thanks for joining us at House of Cards.
    Lorry :o) xx

    Like

  7. So much fun with all the covers! Looks like a warm cozy quilt. Love the text on the sentiment too!

    Like

  8. This is super fun! LOVE that background and I adore the patterned papers you used, too! Thanks for joining us at House of Cards! HUGS! 🙂 Mynn xx

    Like

  9. Hi Kathy
    A super card. Great background and love the colours. Thank you for joining in at House of Cards.
    Best wishes.
    Ang.

    Like

  10. What a great design and color combo! Thanks for joining us at House of Cards. Donna

    Like

  11. Really striking design! Thanks for playing along with us at CAS-ual Fridays, Rebecca x

    Like

  12. I love the background you’ve created, clever. It’s a great card. Thank you for joining us at TMR.

    Like

  13. What a cool look! I love finding new ways of using products. Thanks for sharing with us on House of cards!

    Like

  14. Great card! Thanks for playing with us at CAS-ual Fridays!

    Like

  15. Great idea! Thanks so much for joining us for our watercolour challenge at CASual Fridays 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

Art Anthology

Where art begins...

Sandy Allnock

Fearfully, wonderfully made! —Ps 139:14

Stamp, Ink, Paper Challenge

Weekly Challenge Blog

The Season

-The Ton -

My Impressions

Just gettin' my craft on!

Paper and Ink Imaginings

just playing with paper and ink

Simon Says Stamp Blog

Just gettin' my craft on!

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lindy's Stamp Gang

Join the Lindy's color revolution!

the CLASSroom

Just gettin' my craft on!

Tiddly Inks

Just gettin' my craft on!

The Daily Marker

Just gettin' my craft on!

Just Add Ink

Just gettin' my craft on!

Deconstructing Jen

Crafting with Jen Shults

Cards in Envy

Just gettin' my craft on!

Tim Holtz

Cutting edge paper crafting products, tools, tips and ideas.

kwernerdesign blog

Just gettin' my craft on!

Jennifer McGuire Ink

Just gettin' my craft on!

A Blog Named Hero

Just gettin' my craft on!

