Creative Jumpstart Week 4 – Canvas

I’ve been working on my week 4 project and decided to do a canvas.  I was partially inspired by May Flaum  and by instructor Jenn Mason who taught a great out of the box class  working on black gesso.  I was fairly pleased with how this came out as it was my very first canvas.  One of the things I did that I wouldn’t do again is cover the focal embellishment with Matte Medium.  You can see that it didn’t dry clear, which shocked me so there are little white clumps that look funny in closeup.  I also had some odd reaction with the spray paints – the orange “broke”.  Kind of like oil and water.  Not sure what happened.

The products used were: Liqutex Spray Paints, Liquitex fluid ink in Deep Purple & Naphthol Crimson, FW Pearlescent by Daler Rowney in Genesis Green, Molotow Markers in White, Black and Grey, Dina Wakely Paint in Blackberry Violet, Stencils from Heidi Swapp (hearts) and Club Scrap (sentiment), rub-ons, Tim Holtz grunge hearts, Rose from I am Roses, wire and metal from stash.

Canvas Creative Jump Start 2015

 

Canvas Close

About urrn4u

Hi! I'm Kathy, a Southern Californian native who has lived in the west coast, midwest, northeast and now the southeast. I'm a Registered Nurse who lives for the creation of Art. I am currently on the Design Teams of Cards in Envy, From The Heart Stamps, and Technique Junkies with previous design credits for A Blog Named Hero, A Day For Daisies, Creative Vision, From the Heart Stamps, Open-Minded Crafting, Repeat Impressions Stamps, Sketch Saturday, Send a Smile 4 Kids and Try Stampin' On Tuesday. I've also guest designed for Crafting By Design, Kenny K, The Alley Way, and Simon Says Stamp. I am married 25+ years to a wonderful man and have two very special grown sons, Dan and Matt.

Posted on January 26, 2015, in Art Journal Pages and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. love your heart. What you are describing of the spray paint- sounds as something that happens if the spray wasn’t shaken enough. You really need to do this prior using them so that all components mix together. As for the Matte medium- that might be that your brush was not clean or the way how I read it – it might have been that the medium partly dried already before applied- if you wait to long and then apply it to the surface it could get clumps – as it is an acrylic medium- fast drying times occur . I hope this helps. Nonetheless of those problems your projects turned out amazing. thank you for being part of CJS 🙂

    Like

  2. This is beautiful – I totally love it! The rainbow, the drips… it’s all fantastic. I’ve found that some mediums can react differently with other mediums – so yes make note of what you did and/or used as not a good combo. Maybe run some art journal experiments too. The matte gel should be clear – how odd! I’m thinking it reacted to something? Hard to say. Any way around it though – love this!

    Like

  3. What a cool multicoloured heart! Love it!

    Like

  4. Wonderful piece – I’m ALL OVER that colour!

    Like

  5. M. Carmen - Cuchy

    Such a colourful project. I love it!
    thank you so much for being part of CJS 2015

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

Sandy Allnock

Fearfully, wonderfully made! —Ps 139:14

Stamp, Ink, Paper Challenge

Weekly Challenge Blog

The Season

-The Ton -

My Impressions

Just gettin' my craft on!

Paper and Ink Imaginings

just playing with paper and ink

Simon Says Stamp Blog

Just gettin' my craft on!

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lindy's Stamp Gang

Join the Lindy's color revolution!

the CLASSroom

Just gettin' my craft on!

Tiddly Inks

Just gettin' my craft on!

The Daily Marker

Just gettin' my craft on!

Just Add Ink

Just gettin' my craft on!

Deconstructing Jen

Crafting with Jen Shults

Cards in Envy

Just gettin' my craft on!

Tim Holtz

Cutting edge paper crafting products, tools, tips and ideas.

kwernerdesign blog

Just gettin' my craft on!

Jennifer McGuire Ink

Just gettin' my craft on!

A Blog Named Hero

Just gettin' my craft on!

