Distress Stains & Embossing Folders

I was playing a little bit this morning with some watercolor paper, distress stains and my embossing folders to make some fall cards to send for Thanksgiving.  I found this in the most recent Technique Junkies newsletter and it’s super easy.

Both cards use distress stains applied to paper then embossed with a folder.  They are then finished with brilliance coffee bean ink over the top of the entire card.  Because of the embossing, only the portions that are raised pick up the ink.

Here are my samples.

The first starts with Strathmore 140lb watercolor paper, 3 or 4 fall colors of distress ink, water, brilliance coffee bean ink, and water.  I first sprayed the watercolor paper with water, then directly applied stains, then sprayed again with water.  Then I ran through the embossing folder and used direct to paper inking with the brilliance coffee bean ink.  The sentiment is Paper Trey Ink “brush script” and I edged the card using gathered twigs. The embossing folder is Darice and on sale at Hobby Lobby.

Embossed Stains Oct:Nov 2014

This second card starts with the distress inks being applied to the kraft mat, then stains sprayed with water.  Paper is dipped into the ink then heat set and dipped some more until I was happy with the outcome.  The wreath is cut from glitter paper and from Simon Says stamp as is the label die.  Sentiment is Paper Trey Ink.

Embossed Distress Inks

I prefer the first one, not so busy.  What do you think?

Entered in:

Shopping our Stash: Leave Me Alone

Lawn Fawn: Pumpkin

Catered Crop: Grateful

About urrn4u

Hi! I'm Kathy, a Southern Californian native who has lived in the west coast, midwest, northeast and now the southeast. I'm a Registered Nurse who lives for the creation of Art. I am currently on the Design Teams of Cards in Envy, From The Heart Stamps, and Technique Junkies with previous design credits for A Blog Named Hero, A Day For Daisies, Creative Vision, From the Heart Stamps, Open-Minded Crafting, Repeat Impressions Stamps, Sketch Saturday, Send a Smile 4 Kids and Try Stampin' On Tuesday. I've also guest designed for Crafting By Design, Kenny K, The Alley Way, and Simon Says Stamp. I am married 25+ years to a wonderful man and have two very special grown sons, Dan and Matt.

Posted on November 9, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I love them both! The second one is busier but still very simply laid out, and the background technique really shines! Thanks for coming to play with us at Shopping our Stash 🙂

    Like

  2. oh *WOW*! both of these are incredibly beautiful! such brilliant inky goodness!!! thanks for sharing these gorgeous cards with us at SHOPPING OUR STASH! ❤

    Like

  3. What a STUNNING background you created! Holy cow – it’s beautiful! Thanks for joining us at Lawnscaping Challenges this week!

    Like

  4. This is one of my favorite techniques and you have executed it beautifully on both projects. Thanks, so much, for playing along with us here at Shopping Our Stash!
    Hugz,
    Chana, DT, SOS

    Like

  5. I love both of these cards! The backgrounds are very pretty! Thanks for playing the Lawnscaping Challenge!
    -Samantha

    Like

  6. Wow amazing card!! Love love all those rich autumn colors!!
    Thank you so much for playing with us at Lawnscaping challenges 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

Art Anthology

Where art begins...

Sandy Allnock

Fearfully, wonderfully made! —Ps 139:14

Stamp, Ink, Paper Challenge

Weekly Challenge Blog

The Season

-The Ton -

My Impressions

Just gettin' my craft on!

Paper and Ink Imaginings

just playing with paper and ink

Simon Says Stamp Blog

Just gettin' my craft on!

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lindy's Stamp Gang

Join the Lindy's color revolution!

the CLASSroom

Just gettin' my craft on!

Tiddly Inks

Just gettin' my craft on!

The Daily Marker

Just gettin' my craft on!

Just Add Ink

Just gettin' my craft on!

Deconstructing Jen

Handmade Cards | Paper Crafts | Crochet | Deconstructing Jen with Jen Shults

Cards in Envy

Just gettin' my craft on!

Tim Holtz

Cutting edge paper crafting products, tools, tips and ideas.

kwernerdesign blog

Just gettin' my craft on!

Jennifer McGuire Ink

Just gettin' my craft on!

A Blog Named Hero

Just gettin' my craft on!

