October Tim Holtz Tag 2014

Today I worked on my Tim Holtz October tag.  This one was a blast.  I used some different media because I didn’t have the halloween stencil or recommended stamp, but that’s what makes this fun.  I took the Tim Holtz bubble stencil and applied gold ferro.  I wanted something around the edges, so I applied Antique  Brass crackle paint, then sprayed the entire thing with a combination of Lindy’s Stamp gang and Dylusions inks.  The tree is a Tim Holtz/Sizzix tree embossing folder cut out and colored with distress ink and the Shattered stencil.  In place of the pumpkin that was recommended, I used one from Inkadinkado.  I couldn’t decide if I wanted the pumpkin, the skull or the bat, so I watercolored them all with distress ink mini’s and my water brush, edging them all with Walnut stain. The jump ring  at the top of the tag has white paint on the back and stencils on the front.  The black bats are covered with black enamel accents from Ranger.  To finish embellishing, I used some letters from Tim Holtz and applied rub-on stencils.  The 31 is also from Tim Holtz and I applied a little black paint and some black sharpie in the grooves.   I also added clear crackle paint on the images to make it look worn and a little scary.  I took some close up pictures so you can see better – Hope you like it!

 

October - Tim Holtz Tag

 

 

October Tim Holtz Tag Full

October Tim HOltz Tag 2

 

October Tim HOltz TAg Closeup October - Tim HOltz Skull

\October Tim HOltz Bat

About urrn4u

Hi! I'm Kathy, a Southern Californian native who has lived in the west coast, midwest, northeast and now the southeast. I'm a Registered Nurse who lives for the creation of Art. I am currently on the Design Teams of Cards in Envy, From The Heart Stamps, and Technique Junkies with previous design credits for A Blog Named Hero, A Day For Daisies, Creative Vision, From the Heart Stamps, Open-Minded Crafting, Repeat Impressions Stamps, Sketch Saturday, Send a Smile 4 Kids and Try Stampin' On Tuesday. I've also guest designed for Crafting By Design, Kenny K, The Alley Way, and Simon Says Stamp. I am married 25+ years to a wonderful man and have two very special grown sons, Dan and Matt.

Posted on October 5, 2014, in Tim Holtz Tags and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Oh my goodness what an aweful lot of work went into this fabulous masterpiece. Fantastic result Kathy.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow! This is definitely a treat for the senses! There are so many details…and the texture is fabulous! I like the choice of the pumpkin. Thanks for playing with The Paper Players!

    Like

  3. This is amazing, what an awesome tag! Love all the textures and elements. Thanks for playing along at The Paper Players this week!

    Like

  4. Wowsers! Awesome!

    Like

  5. Wow is right! What an amazing mixed media piece. So much detail! Thanks for joining us this week at The Paper Players, Kathy!

    Like

  6. Wow what an amazing tag – love it

    Like

  7. Wow, Kathy! What a fabulous tag! All of your details are terrific! It just popped right off the page!

    Like

  8. Thanks for coming over to visit my blog & checking out my tags, obviously I did the same 🙂 those Inkadinkadoo stamps are so great, I have a double set of the Christmas ones that I bought a few years back whilst over visiting the family in Maine. I love those images & would have had a hard time choosing which one to go with too! See you around blogland again sometime.

    Sally

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

Sandy Allnock

Fearfully, wonderfully made! —Ps 139:14

Stamp, Ink, Paper Challenge

Weekly Challenge Blog

The Season

-The Ton -

My Impressions

Just gettin' my craft on!

Paper and Ink Imaginings

just playing with paper and ink

Simon Says Stamp Blog

Just gettin' my craft on!

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lindy's Stamp Gang

Join the Lindy's color revolution!

the CLASSroom

Just gettin' my craft on!

Tiddly Inks

Just gettin' my craft on!

The Daily Marker

Just gettin' my craft on!

Just Add Ink

Just gettin' my craft on!

Deconstructing Jen

Crafting with Jen Shults

Cards in Envy

Just gettin' my craft on!

Tim Holtz

Cutting edge paper crafting products, tools, tips and ideas.

kwernerdesign blog

Just gettin' my craft on!

Jennifer McGuire Ink

Just gettin' my craft on!

A Blog Named Hero

Just gettin' my craft on!

