Open-Minded Crafting Challenge #20: Fall/Autumn

Happy Saturday my friends!  I don’t know about you, but this is my absolute favorite time of the year!  As I was driving yesterday in Upstate New York, I noticed that the trees are already starting to turn their gorgeous fall colors. The local farms are having U-Pick apples and the cider is flowing.  In a few weeks, the backdrop will be vibrant oranges, rich reds, royal purples and luscious yellows.  This time of the year is the one thing I really love about the East Coast compared to my California roots – the change of seasons.

As we enter into fall, Open-Minded Crafting Challenges is having a Fall and Autumn themed challenge which will last until October 10th.  As usual we have some spectacular sponsors for the challenge offering some very generous prizes.  They are:

 

A T & T Digital DesignsPrize:  2 Images

QKR Stampede

 Prize:  5 Images

 

Sentimental SusanPrize: 5 Images

 

Digital Delights

 Prize: $5.00 Gift Certificate

 

 

Time 4 Tea Designs

Prize:  5 Images

You ready for some fall inspiration?  I chose to use a QKR Stampede digital image called “Scarecrow”.  I colored him in rich fall colors using Copic Markers and highlighted the edges with distress ink in Scattered Straw.  To get that white edge, keep you die in place when you do your inking.  The sentiment bubble is from Lawn Fawn and the paper pack is The Farmhouse “Sugar Hill” 6 x 6 collection. Across the middle of my card I placed a My Favorite Things stitched rectangular die and finished the card with a bit of twine for a sense of “scarecrow” stuffing.

I hope you find some great inspiration here and with the other talented designers at Open-Minded Crafting Challenge.  See you soon!

IMG_20140816_0001

 

 

 

 

About urrn4u

Hi! I'm Kathy, a Southern Californian native who has lived in the west coast, midwest, northeast and now the southeast. I'm a Registered Nurse who lives for the creation of Art. I am currently on the Design Teams of Cards in Envy, From The Heart Stamps, and Technique Junkies with previous design credits for A Blog Named Hero, A Day For Daisies, Creative Vision, From the Heart Stamps, Open-Minded Crafting, Repeat Impressions Stamps, Sketch Saturday, Send a Smile 4 Kids and Try Stampin' On Tuesday. I've also guest designed for Crafting By Design, Kenny K, The Alley Way, and Simon Says Stamp. I am married 25+ years to a wonderful man and have two very special grown sons, Dan and Matt.

Posted on September 27, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Simply stunning – Beautifully coloured and colourful.

    Like

  2. Wonderful fall card. Your coloring of the image is fabulous. Thanks for sharing this with us at Love to Scrap Challenge. Good luck. Debi DT LTSCB

    Like

  3. fantastic coloring on this cute cute image!! love the leaf background and your stitching!
    Thank you so much for sharing at Love to Scrap! challenge blog!

    Like

  4. Very cute autumn card! Thanks so much for playing along with us for Anything Goes week over on the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge Blog!

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

Art Anthology

Where art begins...

Sandy Allnock

Fearfully, wonderfully made! —Ps 139:14

Stamp, Ink, Paper Challenge

Weekly Challenge Blog

The Season

-The Ton -

My Impressions

Just gettin' my craft on!

Paper and Ink Imaginings

just playing with paper and ink

Simon Says Stamp Blog

Just gettin' my craft on!

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lindy's Stamp Gang

Join the Lindy's color revolution!

the CLASSroom

Just gettin' my craft on!

Tiddly Inks

Just gettin' my craft on!

The Daily Marker

Just gettin' my craft on!

Just Add Ink

Just gettin' my craft on!

Deconstructing Jen

Crafting with Jen Shults

Cards in Envy

Just gettin' my craft on!

Tim Holtz

Cutting edge paper crafting products, tools, tips and ideas.

kwernerdesign blog

Just gettin' my craft on!

Jennifer McGuire Ink

Just gettin' my craft on!

A Blog Named Hero

Just gettin' my craft on!

