Exploring Art Journaling Pages 17, 18, 19, 20 & 21

Wow – this is a lot of pages!  I’ve had a great weekend catching up on my 30 day Art Journaling Challenge using Christine Urias’ “Exploring Art Journaling 4” class at Scraptime.ca.  

Day 17’s page uses Tim Holtz’s Distress Paint Daubers to make flowers.  I topped all of them with a TON of stickles because I have lots of them and can’t really use them on my Operation Write Home cards.  I got that idea from Joggles U-tube channel.

 

Day 17 Dauber Flowers with Stickles over watercolor base

Day 17 Dauber Flowers with Stickles over watercolor base

Day 18 uses a lettering technique to make large statement words.  The pages starts on a base of Gelatos and I used Sharpie Paint markers for the colored letters.  I have a LONG way to go and A LOT to learn when it comes to hand lettering, but I have to say it really interests me and found a great book on Amazon called “The Art of Whimsical Lettering” by JoAnne Sharpe.

4 - Day 18; Hand Lettering

Hand Lettering w/Sharpie

 

Day 19 is a fun page I really like and uses some watercolor paint and salt to make some fun background texture.

Watercolor & Salt

Watercolor & Salt

Day 20 uses die cuts collaged on the page and then using the new Dina Wakely Acrylic Paint over them.  If you haven’t tried her paints I would highly suggest it.  They are FABULOUS.  I have a ton of paints and I tell you the vibrancy and texture of this is like using butter.  It’s fabulous.  Hobby Lobby is now carrying the line so I’ll be there to pick up the other colors very soon.

This page felt chaotic to me, so I came up with the theme “lost ?”, because as humans, we all feel that way and I’m sure most everyone can relate. It’s life and that’s what Art Journaling is meant for, expression.

4 - Day 20; Die cut Texture

Die Cut Collage

Last, Day 21 is a favorite so far.  The technique is stamping into transparent molding paste for texture.  To do this you apply a fairly even, thin layer of translucent molding paste, then simply stamp into it, letting it dry and painting over it with distress paints in shaded lilac and picked raspberry.  I cut out some of the newsprint collage sheets for flowers and the butterfly and used some old stamps from my stash.  I like that the little girl in the top right corner almost looks like me when I was a little girl.  I hated that pixie, but that’s what I was given. I did some hand patterning around the edges that I learned from the Sakura website.  They have some great video’s, so I’d check them out.

4-Day 21; Translucent Gel Stamping

Stamping in Translucent Gel

About urrn4u

Hi! I'm Kathy, a Southern Californian native who has lived in the west coast, midwest, northeast and now the southeast. I'm a Registered Nurse who lives for the creation of Art. I am currently on the Design Teams of Cards in Envy, From The Heart Stamps, and Technique Junkies with previous design credits for A Blog Named Hero, A Day For Daisies, Creative Vision, From the Heart Stamps, Open-Minded Crafting, Repeat Impressions Stamps, Sketch Saturday, Send a Smile 4 Kids and Try Stampin' On Tuesday. I've also guest designed for Crafting By Design, Kenny K, The Alley Way, and Simon Says Stamp. I am married 25+ years to a wonderful man and have two very special grown sons, Dan and Matt.

Posted on September 22, 2014, in Art Journal Pages and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

Sandy Allnock

Fearfully, wonderfully made! —Ps 139:14

Stamp, Ink, Paper Challenge

Weekly Challenge Blog

The Season

-The Ton -

My Impressions

Just gettin' my craft on!

Paper and Ink Imaginings

just playing with paper and ink

Simon Says Stamp Blog

Just gettin' my craft on!

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lindy's Stamp Gang

Join the Lindy's color revolution!

the CLASSroom

Just gettin' my craft on!

Tiddly Inks

Just gettin' my craft on!

The Daily Marker

Just gettin' my craft on!

Just Add Ink

Just gettin' my craft on!

Deconstructing Jen

Crafting with Jen Shults

Cards in Envy

Just gettin' my craft on!

Tim Holtz

Cutting edge paper crafting products, tools, tips and ideas.

kwernerdesign blog

Just gettin' my craft on!

Jennifer McGuire Ink

Just gettin' my craft on!

A Blog Named Hero

Just gettin' my craft on!

