Watercoloring of a Digital Image

Watercolor - Digital

I wanted to try watercoloring on a digital image so I grabbed this freebie from A Day For Daisies and brought it into Photoshop.  I created this cluster of 3 from the one image and printed the image out on regular typing paper.  I then took a 4 1/4 x 5 1/2 inch piece of 108 lb watercolor paper (lighter so it goes through the printer better) and taped it right over the image using washi tape and centering it over the image.  I put that back in the printer and re-printed the image.  My error was I used my Ink Jet printer instead of a laser jet.  As you can tell, the ink bled. I don’t think it’s horrible, so I didn’t re-do it, but next time I will certainly use the laser.  The image was colored using Distress Inks in Worn Lipstick and Scattered Straw.  The background is Tumbled Glass and Bundled Sage.  I then took black soot, added water, and splattered over image.  The sentiment is Hero Arts “All Occasion Messages”.

Entered in:

A Day For Daisies: Painted image

Crafting By Design: ATG

Case Study 207

Virginia’s Challenge: Pattern Paper

About urrn4u

Hi! I'm Kathy, a Southern Californian native who has lived in the west coast, midwest, northeast and now the southeast. I'm a Registered Nurse who lives for the creation of Art. I am currently on the Design Teams of Cards in Envy, From The Heart Stamps, and Technique Junkies with previous design credits for A Blog Named Hero, A Day For Daisies, Creative Vision, From the Heart Stamps, Open-Minded Crafting, Repeat Impressions Stamps, Sketch Saturday, Send a Smile 4 Kids and Try Stampin' On Tuesday. I've also guest designed for Crafting By Design, Kenny K, The Alley Way, and Simon Says Stamp. I am married 25+ years to a wonderful man and have two very special grown sons, Dan and Matt.

Posted on September 6, 2014, in A Day For Daisies, Case Study, Crafting By Design, Virginia's View Challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Beautiful card Kathy! I think the bleeding is a happy accident, it adds to the painted feel. I love A Day for Daises images thanks for reminding me 🙂

    Like

  2. This is lovely, Kathy !! I like how you have copied the flowers.

    PS: Did you see that we have a DT Call @ From the Heart Stamps ? It´s in our September Blog Hop Post. Just wanted to let you know……

    Like

  3. Honestly, Kathy, I didn’t notice anything “wrong” with your card – the watercoloring always turns out a bit different, anyway. Thanks for sharing this with us at Virginia’s View Pattern Paper challenge this month!

    Like

  4. Pretty image that you nicely water colored!

    Like

  5. Thank you for being with CAS(E) Study this week.

    Like

  6. Thanks for joining in with CASE Study challenge this week! I think the bleeding added some natural shading 😉 Actually I really can’t see the bleeding LOL. We are our own worst critics at times; all I see is a beautiful watercolour 😀

    Like

  7. Such pretty lilies!
    Thanks for joining us at Virginia’s View Challenge!

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

Sandy Allnock

Fearfully, wonderfully made! —Ps 139:14

Stamp, Ink, Paper Challenge

Weekly Challenge Blog

The Season

-The Ton -

My Impressions

Just gettin' my craft on!

Paper and Ink Imaginings

just playing with paper and ink

Simon Says Stamp Blog

Just gettin' my craft on!

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lindy's Stamp Gang

Join the Lindy's color revolution!

the CLASSroom

Just gettin' my craft on!

Tiddly Inks

Just gettin' my craft on!

The Daily Marker

Just gettin' my craft on!

Just Add Ink

Just gettin' my craft on!

Deconstructing Jen

Crafting with Jen Shults

Cards in Envy

Just gettin' my craft on!

Tim Holtz

Cutting edge paper crafting products, tools, tips and ideas.

kwernerdesign blog

Just gettin' my craft on!

Jennifer McGuire Ink

Just gettin' my craft on!

A Blog Named Hero

Just gettin' my craft on!

