Exploring Art Journaling 4; Day 1 and 2

4 - Day 1 - Medium & Acrylic Paint

Day 1 – Acrylic paint and Gel medium

 

Day 2 GelatosDay 2; Gelatos

Having fun with Exploring Art journaling 4 with Christine Urias at Scraptime for her fourth installment of art journaling courses.  The classes are self paced and can be watched over and over again.  The first layout uses acrylic paint mixed with acrylic medium.  The flowers are a mask from my Heidi Swapp and stencils from Dina Wakley and crafters workshop.

The second page uses gelatos as a base in yellow, blue, green and dark green to create the background.  The stamps are from Dyan Reavly’s clear set called ‘Clearly Borders’. I used J and W pearlescent acrylic paints  mixed with modeling cream through the ‘wavy’ stencil from Simon Says Stamp and the gelatos mixed with water on the Dina Wakely stencil. I colored in the leaves with Silks and the borders with Molotow Acrylic markers.  I pulled out a bunch of stash letter from my active scrapooking days and to finish off,  I splatted black paint, covered in gel medium and used a Faber Castell pit marker in brown to create shadows.  This is a 30 day project, so there will be more to come.  Thanks for sharing in my journey.

 

About urrn4u

Hi! I'm Kathy, a Southern Californian native who has lived in the west coast, midwest, northeast and now the southeast. I'm a Registered Nurse who lives for the creation of Art. I am currently on the Design Teams of Cards in Envy, From The Heart Stamps, and Technique Junkies with previous design credits for A Blog Named Hero, A Day For Daisies, Creative Vision, From the Heart Stamps, Open-Minded Crafting, Repeat Impressions Stamps, Sketch Saturday, Send a Smile 4 Kids and Try Stampin' On Tuesday. I've also guest designed for Crafting By Design, Kenny K, The Alley Way, and Simon Says Stamp. I am married 25+ years to a wonderful man and have two very special grown sons, Dan and Matt.

Posted on September 3, 2014, in Art Journal Pages and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Absolutely stunning art Kathy. Both pages are so vibrant.
    Hugs Desíre {Doing Life}

    Like

  2. Gorgeous pages. Love the masking in the first one. Thanks for joining us at The Mixed Media Monthly Challenge.

    Like

  3. Fun art journal pages! Love the techniques! Thanks for joining us in this month’s Mixed Media Monthly Color Challenge!

    Like

  4. very pretty! i really love the bold flowers on the top one! Thank you so much for playing with the Mixed Media Monthly Challenge!
    -Rachel

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

Art Anthology

Where art begins...

Sandy Allnock

Fearfully, wonderfully made! —Ps 139:14

Stamp, Ink, Paper Challenge

Weekly Challenge Blog

The Season

-The Ton -

My Impressions

Just gettin' my craft on!

Paper and Ink Imaginings

just playing with paper and ink

Simon Says Stamp Blog

Just gettin' my craft on!

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lindy's Stamp Gang

Join the Lindy's color revolution!

the CLASSroom

Just gettin' my craft on!

Tiddly Inks

Just gettin' my craft on!

The Daily Marker

Just gettin' my craft on!

Just Add Ink

Just gettin' my craft on!

Deconstructing Jen

Crafting with Jen Shults

Cards in Envy

Just gettin' my craft on!

Tim Holtz

Cutting edge paper crafting products, tools, tips and ideas.

kwernerdesign blog

Just gettin' my craft on!

Jennifer McGuire Ink

Just gettin' my craft on!

A Blog Named Hero

Just gettin' my craft on!

