Summer’s Here!

Make a Splash

Make a Splash

STS23

This card uses Seize the Sketch #23 and A Day For Daisies digital image colored w/Copics using My Minds Eye “Tangerine” 6 x 6 paper pad.  The background technique is called pointillism, which is simply a bunch of dots made with the makers that are more focused in the center and then dissipates toward the edges.  The sentiment is from My Favorite Things and the banner die is Simon Says Stamp.

Entered in:

A Day For Daisies:  Monochromatic Challenge

Simon Says Stamp: Anything Thing Goes

Seize the Sketch: 23

Marker Pop: Yellows

Crafty Sentiments: Summer

Crafting by Design: Summer

Seize the Birthday: Anything Goes

CAS-ual Friday’s: Summer

Catered Crop: Summer

Artbymairan: Anything Goes

About urrn4u

Hi! I'm Kathy, a Southern Californian native who has lived in the west coast, midwest, northeast and now the southeast. I'm a Registered Nurse who lives for the creation of Art. I am currently on the Design Teams of Cards in Envy, From The Heart Stamps, and Technique Junkies with previous design credits for A Blog Named Hero, A Day For Daisies, Creative Vision, From the Heart Stamps, Open-Minded Crafting, Repeat Impressions Stamps, Sketch Saturday, Send a Smile 4 Kids and Try Stampin' On Tuesday. I've also guest designed for Crafting By Design, Kenny K, The Alley Way, and Simon Says Stamp. I am married 25+ years to a wonderful man and have two very special grown sons, Dan and Matt.

Posted on June 28, 2014, in A Day For Daisies, Seize the Birthday, Seize the Sketch, Simon Says Stamp Challenge. Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. Wow, the pointillism background is fabulous! It really draws the eye in to your focal image. Great card! Thanks for joining us at Seize the Sketch!

    Like

  2. so gorgeous, love the coloring
    thanks for playing with us at crafty sentiments
    hugs
    céline

    Like

  3. this is gorgeous Kathy! I love the image, your papers are awesome and I love your take on the sketch you’ve used! Thanks for joining ‘Here Comes the Summer’ at Crafting by Designs this week! Mo xxx

    Like

  4. Very pretty Kathy! I’ll have to try this technique!
    Thank you for joining us at Seize The Sketch. 🙂

    Like

  5. Oooo! I love your dotted background! Super cute card! Thanks so much for playing along with us over at the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge blog for the Anything Goes Challenge!

    Like

  6. Love your pointillist background! Thanks so much for joining us at STAMPlorations 🙂

    Like

  7. Hey Kathy! What a great way to use the sketch! Love the warm, summery colours and your amazing colouring!! Thanks for joining us at Seize the Sketch!

    Like

  8. love those dots! what a great technique!

    Like

  9. This is so pretty. I adore the image and then your coloring just turns it from an image to a beautiful mermaid. The dots of orange, red and yellow around this image remind me of bubbles in the ocean. Very pretty with this image! Your card fits our challenge wonderfully! Thanks for joining us at Crafty Sentiments this week. Hugs, Gail

    Like

  10. I saw your card on Seize the Sketch and it is very cute. Your coloring and use of dots really makes it stand out.

    Like

  11. Super cute card! Thanks for joining along with Seize the Sketch ~ please feel free to check out my sample: http://cupcakescreations.blogspot.com/2014/06/you-are-special-blessing.html

    Like

  12. Love the fun colors on this sweet card! Great detailing! ❤

    Like

  13. This is really sweet! I love the hot colors and your background!!
    I am so glad you could play along with us at A Day for Daisies!

    Like

  14. Such a wonderful creation with great attention to detail. Love the colours and embellishments. All the elements work so well together. It is perfect for our ninth ‘ANYTHING GOES’ challenge. Thanks for sharing your talent with us. Good luck.
    Hugs
    Desíre
    {Art by Miran Showcase DT Member}
    {Doing Life – my personal blog}

    Like

  15. Kathy, this card is totally stunning! It looks like a real work of art! I adore the colours and the background and that wonderfully cute image. Fabulous!

    Like

  16. Congratulations on your win at MarkerPOP! This is a darling card with some masterful coloring going on!
    ~ginny
    RubberMAD

    Like

  17. Beautiful card!!! Congrats on your win at Marker Pop!!!

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

Art Anthology

Where art begins...

Sandy Allnock

Fearfully, wonderfully made! —Ps 139:14

Stamp, Ink, Paper Challenge

Weekly Challenge Blog

The Season

-The Ton -

My Impressions

Just gettin' my craft on!

Paper and Ink Imaginings

just playing with paper and ink

Simon Says Stamp Blog

Just gettin' my craft on!

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Lindy's Stamp Gang

Join the Lindy's color revolution!

the CLASSroom

Just gettin' my craft on!

Tiddly Inks

Just gettin' my craft on!

The Daily Marker

Just gettin' my craft on!

Just Add Ink

Just gettin' my craft on!

Deconstructing Jen

Crafting with Jen Shults

Cards in Envy

Just gettin' my craft on!

Tim Holtz

Cutting edge paper crafting products, tools, tips and ideas.

kwernerdesign blog

Just gettin' my craft on!

Jennifer McGuire Ink

Just gettin' my craft on!

A Blog Named Hero

Just gettin' my craft on!

